Aimed at reviving the spirit of the old European Footballer of the Year award, UEFA, in partnership with European Sports Media (ESM), launched the UEFA Best Player in Europe Award.
This election will recognise the best player irrespective of his nationality, playing for a football club within the territory of a UEFA member association during the previous season. For the inaugural award, players will be judged by their performances in all competitions, both domestic and international, and at club and national team levels.
The jury comprises of 55 renowned sports journalists representing each of the UEFA national associations. Firstly each journalist will provide a list of their three best-ranked players from one to three, with the first player receiving five points, the second three points and the third one point.
Resulting in an announcement of ten players with the most points and about a three weeks later these ten players will be shortlisted by the same 55 jury members in a top-three of final candidates.
The final voting will take place around the UEFA Champions League group stage draw, end of august, where all journalists will vote , via an electronic system, for their best player from the shortlist of three, to determine the winner.
  • 2017 - Cristiano Ronaldo
  • 2016 - Cristiano Ronaldo
  • 2015 - Lionel Messi
  • 2014 - Cristiano Ronaldo
  • 2013 - Franck Ribéry
  • 2012 - Andres Iniesta
  • 2011 - Lionel Messi
On behalf of ESM the administration is handled by kicker.